Where Has the Time Gone?……

Yes….I am still awake at 1:19 in the morning. Obviously, I can’t sleep. Three hours ago I found myself asking my wife the question, “Why can’t there be more time in the day?”. After saying those words I sent my children off to bed with a simple goodnight as I continued to be absorbed in the IMPORTANT things. The NECESSARY things. Now, I have been hit head on by a freight train of this difficult thing called:

REALITY

What is the reality that has hit me so hard? It is the reality of my own mistakes. What mistake? The mistake of using the time God has given me for ridiculous purposes. I realize this: If there was more time in the day I would find a ridiculous way to eat it up and then I would still complain about time! As I said, I told my children (God’s gifts) a simple goodnight while absorbed into NONSENSE and now I sit here and I think, “Why wasn’t I finding out about their day, their fears, their dreams?” Then, I opened my Bible only to come across Ephesians 5:15-17 which says, “Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.”

MAKING THE BEST USE OF THE TIME

Oh, how that hurts! It cuts deep! What is time? It is a gift from God that is to be spent glorifying Him in all things. It is a gift from God that is to be spent treasuring His grace! Yet, I so often find myself consumed with cheap idols. That is exactly where my flesh finds its delight! Yet, my spirit is in agony. It is so easy to find ourselves in this dilemma. However, the cure is found in verse 15 and 17, “Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise”, “Therefore, do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” These two verses complement each other so beautifully! We are to walk with wisdom and we do that by discovering the will of the Lord AND making that our purpose. In verse 1 Paul said, “Be imitators of God, as beloved children” and in that we truly have God’s will for our lives. We are to be good stewards of the gift of time God has given us by following the example Christ has given us. When I find myself spending time with cheap idols how can I expect to be molded into the image of Christ? I can only expect to never go beyond the image of the idol.

The thing is, this war will rage on until we do something about it!

About RobertWakeJr

I am a full-time pastor, passionate preacher of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, aspiring writer, and proud husband and father of four! Visit our website at www.riscofbc.com View all posts by RobertWakeJr

Leave a Reply

